

NORTH CAROLINA COMMUNITY COLLEGE SYSTEM R. Scott Ralls, Ph.D. President

PEP Memorandum #3

To: Presidents

From: Sharon Morrissey, Senior Vice President and Chief Academic Officer

NC Community College System

Subject: Expedited State Board of Community Colleges Approval/Termination of

Prison Education Courses

Date: June 6, 2011

President Ralls has asked staff to expedite the process related to the approval and termination of prison education courses and programs affected by pending Legislation. Staff is developing a simplified form for each institution that will list curriculum programs for termination and continuing education courses for approval; this form will be used in lieu of the regular captive/co-opted application to facilitate compliance with the pending Legislation.

If you have not already done so, please schedule a meeting with your Prison Superintendent as quickly as possible to complete and return the Joint Confirmation Form (see PEP Memorandum #2, June 2, 2011). If you need assistance completing this form, please contact Gloria Upperman (Gloria.Upperman@doc.nc.gov or 919-838-3642); Tony Reggi (Anthony.Reggi@doc.nc.gov or 919-838-3643); or Tracy McPherson (mcphersont@nccommunitycolleges.edu or 919-807-7117).

As soon as your Joint Confirmation Form is received and approved by DOC, NCCCS staff will send you the expedited State Board of Community Colleges (SBCC) termination/approval form for your signature. We plan to present the termination/approval requests to the State Board for action on July 15, 2011, with a request for retroactive approval to July 1, 2011, since that is the effective date of the Legislation. Thank you for your continued support of the Prisoner Education Program (PEP). Please call if you have questions about the process.

(Note: This memo supersedes directions sent in Prisoner Education Program Memo #2 page 3; the regular Continuing Education captive approval form does not need to be completed for this project.)

C: Dr. Scott Ralls

Mr. Kennon Briggs Dr. Saundra Williams

Mr. Van Wilson

Ms. Barbara Boyce Ms. Tracy McPherson Ms. Jennie Lancaster, NCDOC Ms. Gloria Upperman, NCDOC

Dr. Tony Reggi, NCDOC